Day 9: Foodie Friday two

1017169_10151432691412461_2047000317_nIt’s about 7:00 pm on a friday night. But what is this 23 year old single chick doing tonight? Nothing much. Editing some photo’s. I have been blow away by everyone’s responces to my post from last night.  I had posted it about 2:00 am Friday morning and had gone to bed at that point. When I woke up I checked my phone I was in shock. The response I have gotten has blow my mind. I had 6 private messages/emails. Plus many people commenting on my FB and Google+.

Some say that I had brought this life upon myself. Yes some of it I have but does that mean that I should have every part of myself ripped away at a moment.  “Fear, terror, and feeling unsafe. Intense fear may be experienced in many aspects of a woman’s life. If you feared for your life or the lives of others during the assault, you may be afraid that the perpetrator will return. You may find that fear and terror become generalized to other areas or to situations that are similar to the assault. There is nowhere that feels safe anymore. When I’m home I’m afraid that someone will break into my house; when I’m out, I’m afraid that I’ll be attacked. My guard is always up.”

Rape happens sadly more than we know. I have received quite a few friends leaving me messages of encouragement and relief.  How many of us fight the same battles but fight them quietly. I am choosing to fight my fight more publicly. Some may not agree with it. But for me it is the most free I have felt in a very long time.

321433During some of the darkest days in my life I was talking to a friend. He sent this to me. “I’m reminded every day that God is willing to forgive. We fall down we get back up. Rinse and repeat as needed. No one is perfect. I’ve had my own share of battles. In my darkest days … God reached out and reminded me of his mercy. Even from things that we feel ashamed of. Which is why I’m passing the message onto you. People come to me because they know that while I am blunt with my opinions … I am willing to listen. People who treat someone differently because of that are shallow and have no understanding or compassion in their hearts. You can’t blame someone for something like that. You just can’t.” Great advice from a close friend. Every day becomes a little easier. Thank you God.
Now on to the Yummy part of this Foodie Friday.

Confetti Chicken Pasta:

  • 16 oz. Penne Pasta
  • 2 T Olive Oil, divided
  • 2 Chicken Breasts, cubed
  • ½ C Onion, diced
  • 2 t Garlic
  • 1 Yellow Bell Pepper, sliced
  • 1 C Broccoli
  • 1 C Asparagus, 1-inch pieces
  • 1 C Grape Tomatoes
  • ¼ t pepper
  • ¼ t salt

Cream Sauce:

  • 2 T Butter
  • 2 T Flour
  • 2 C Half & Half
  • 1 C Feta Cheese

Cook Pasta. Sprinkle the Chicken Breast with Salt and Pepper. Heat 1 T Oil over medium heat and cook Chicken until golden on all sides. Add the remaining Olive Oil then sauté Onions for 2 min. Add in the Garlic and Bell Pepper and sauté 2 mins. Then toss in Broccoli and Asparagus. Saving the Tomatoes until the very end. When everything is cooked, combine the Veggies with tomatoes and Chicken. Melt Butter then toss in the Flour and stir, cooking 2 minutes. Slowly add in the Half & Half while stirring. When sauce thickens, turn off and add Cheese.

Such a good recipe. One of my personal favorites. Now to go read some books and listen to music. Everyone have a wonderful weekend.

d0ef4dc960f2ed9fe8164b5538075667

Leave a Reply

